Skip to content

Asia-Pacific International Conference on Additive Manufacturing (APICAM)

Conference Chairs

Distinguished Professor Ma Qian - RMIT University

Distinguished Professor Ma QianDr Ma Qian is a RMIT Distinguished Professor and Deputy Director of
the Centre for Additive Manufacturing (AM) at Royal Melbourne Institute
of Technology (RMIT). His current research centres on metal AM,
solidification processing, and powder metallurgy. His most recent relevant
contributions include co-development of “The Interdependence Theory
for Grain Formation during Solidification” (Acta Mater 2011;59:4907;
2010;58:3262), which is being applied to metal AM today, and an
innovative selective laser melting process for Ti-6Al-4V (Acta Mater
2015;85:74), as well as identification of massive phase transformation in
AM Ti-6Al-4V (Acta Mater 2016;104:303). He co-authored the 5th edition
Ian Polmear book on Light Alloys: Metallurgy of the Light Metals (2017,
Elsevier) with Ian Polmear, David StJohn and Jian-Feng Nie, and edited
three Elsevier books on titanium alloys with F. H. Froes. He has one
invention on magnesium alloys commercialised by industry (in production
since 2013). With his collaborators and PhD students, he has published
216 journal papers, which have resulted in 10 research awards. He initiated the biennial international conference
on Titanium Powder Metallurgy in 2011 (co-sponsored by Materials Australia, TiDA, TMS, JSPM and CSM).
Currently he serves as an Associate Editor for Acta Materialia and Scripta Materialia.

Professor Jian-Feng Nie - Monash University

Professor Jian-Feng NieJian-Feng Nie received his B.Eng. degree from Beijing Institute of
Technology in 1986 and PhD degree from Monash University in 1993. He
is a professor of Monash University. His current research interests cover
physical metallurgy of magnesium and aluminium alloys, applications of
scanning transmission electron microscopy in materials characterisation,
and processing-microstructure-property relationships in metallic alloys.
He has co-authored one book on light alloys, published one book chapter
in the 5th edition of Physical Metallurgy, co-authored over 150 papers
in major international journals, and edited proceedings of several major
international conferences. He was awarded the Marcus Grossmann Young
Authors Award of ASM International in 2006, AIME Champion Mathewson
Medal Award of TMS in 2015, and TMS Extraction and Processing
Division Technology Award in 2017. He is editor of Metallurgical and
Materials Transactions, former Chair of Phase Transformations Committee
of TMS, and chair of the National Events Committee of Materials Australia.
He chaired several international conferences, including the 7th Pacific Rim International Conference on Advanced
Materials and Processing (PRICM-7), which was held in Cairns in 2010.